Best business export tariffs in the UK

The commercial Smart Export Guarantee rates worth knowing about, ranked best-first and updated weekly.

Rates correct as of 21 September 2026

Business & non-domestic tariffs only. The headline-grabbing residential SEG rates are deliberately excluded - and several mandatory SEG licensees (Fuse, OVO) only pay domestic premises, so they are not included here.

The big move this month: British Gas Business cuts its export rate from 15.1 p to 8 p (systems over 15 kW) from 6 July 2026, dropping it from the top of the table to mid-pack. The best flat rates are now EDF Export 12M Small Business (15 p) for systems up to 50 kW, and Scottish Power SmartGen Premium (12 p, up to 5 MW, Scottish Power import required) for larger sites. On the very biggest sites a commercial PPA is worth tendering alongside the flat SEG rates.

Supplier Tariff Rate Site size accepted Conditions Effective
EDF Energy (SME) EDF Energy (SME) Best rate
Export 12M Small Business Fixed 12 months 15 p/kWh Fixed ≤ 50 kW Existing EDF SME import customer. Hard 50 kW cap - pays nothing above it. -
Scottish Power Business Scottish Power Business Best rate
SmartGen Premium No fixed end 12 p/kWh Variable Up to 5 MW Must be a Scottish Power import customer. -
Octopus Energy for Business Octopus Energy for Business Best rate
Panel Power No fixed end 12 p/kWh Variable < 150 kWp Octopus Business import required. Hard 150 kWp cap per site. -
British Gas Business British Gas Business Best rate
Export and Earn Flex - Low-capacity rate No fixed end, no exit fees 12 p/kWh Variable ≤ 15 kW Existing BG Business import customer with a system ≤ 15 kW. -
E.ON Next (SME/Commercial) E.ON Next (SME/Commercial) Best rate
Next Export Business v1 12 months fixed, no exit fees 8.5 p/kWh Fixed Up to 5 MW SME or commercial customer. Does NOT require an E.ON import contract. Half-hourly export meter and HH data consent required. -
British Gas Business British Gas Business Best rate
Export and Earn Flex - High-capacity rate No fixed end, no exit fees 8 p/kWh Variable >15 kW up to 5 MW Existing BG Business import customer with a system >15 kW. -
Scottish Power Scottish Power Best rate
SmartGen (standard) No fixed end 6 p/kWh Variable Up to 5 MW Open to anyone - does NOT require Scottish Power import. Half-hourly meter required. -
EDF Energy (SME) EDF Energy (SME) Best rate
SEG Export Variable Value Variable, no fixed end 5.6 p/kWh Variable >50 kW up to 5 MW Existing EDF electricity customer with a system above the 50 kW Small Business cap. -
Octopus Energy Octopus Energy Best rate
Octopus SEG Not stated; export-only customers 4.1 p/kWh Fixed Up to 5 MW Open to anyone - no Octopus import contract required. Confirm the rate before applying: Octopus publishes both 4.1p and 3p for this product. -
British Gas British Gas Best rate
SEG (non-customer rate) No fixed end 3.02 p/kWh Variable Up to 5 MW Pays even if your import is elsewhere. Call BG Business to confirm a non-domestic site can take the non-customer rate. -
EDF Energy EDF Energy Best rate
SEG Export Variable (non-customer) Variable, no fixed end 3 p/kWh Variable Up to 5 MW Open to anyone - no EDF import contract required. -
Utilita Best rate
Smart Export Guarantee Not stated 3 p/kWh Variable Up to 5 MW Open to anyone - no Utilita account required. Half-hourly capable export meter required. -
Octopus Energy for Business Octopus Energy for Business Best rate
Shape Shifters: Export Rolling / commercial-PPA style Dynamic - HH wholesale Dynamic < 150 kWp Octopus Business import required. -

Fixed = locked for the contract term. Variable = a single rate the supplier can change at any time. Dynamic = tracks wholesale prices, changing every half hour.

Rate is the headline export price. Site size accepted is the system band the rate applies to - a rate outside your band may pay nothing. Bundled tariffs only pay if you also take that supplier’s import contract; SEG-only tariffs pay whoever your importer is. Variable and dynamic rates are not protected by the Ofgem price cap and can change with little notice, so always confirm directly with the supplier before applying.

Excluded tariffs (9) Show

These names show up on comparison sites but do not apply to commercial customers - they are residential-only, installer-locked, or domestic-only suppliers. Listed here so it is clear why they are not in the league.

E.ON Next - Next Export Premium v3 Residential only - eligibility states 'A residential customer with a renewable generation system up to 15 kW' AND the solar must have been installed by E.ON Installation Services from 10/11/2025. Supplier page →
Scottish Power - SmartGen Premium Plus Restricted to SP customers who ALSO had their solar installed by SP. Supplier page →
E.ON Next - Next Export Exclusive v3 Residential only - eligibility states 'A residential customer with a renewable generation system up to 15 kW'. Supplier page →
Fuse Energy - Single Rate Variable (SEG) Domestic only - supply T&Cs state premises must be used 'wholly or mainly for domestic purposes'. Confirmed by Fuse directly. Supplier page →
E.ON Next - Next Flex Export v1 Residential-framed on E.ON's page ('Customers with a renewable generation system up to 5 MW'). Excluded from the commercial league. Supplier page →
Utility Warehouse (Electricity Plus Supply) - UW SEG Standard / UW SEG Bundle Domestic only - the SEG page is headed 'get paid for electricity you generate AT HOME' and the eligible technology list specifies 'a DOMESTIC wind turbine'. The 8p Bundle rate additionally requires UW Energy plus two or more of Broadband, Mobile or Insurance - all household consumer products. Supplier page →
Outfox Energy (Foxglove Energy Supply) - Smart Export Guarantee Domestic only - the SEG page states the tariff is 'available to domestic customers only' and is 'open to any eligible domestic customer in Great Britain'. Note Outfox DOES sell business energy separately, so the restriction is scoped to the SEG product specifically, not the supplier. Supplier page →
OVO Energy - Standard SEG / Beyond Exclusive / Install Exclusive Domestic-only supplier - OVO's own guidance: 'OVO Energy is a domestic-only supplier and isn't able to supply non-domestic customers right now.' Non-domestic switches fail at registration. Supplier page →
So Energy, E (Gas and Electricity) - Unconfirmed mandatory licensee tariffs Commercial acceptance NOT established from supplier-side evidence. So Energy: no import contract required and rates of 4.5p (Export Flex) / 20p (Bright Export) advertised, but the SEG page is technology-scoped with no business wording, the commercial solar page defers to 'your energy supplier', and no SEG-specific T&Cs could be located. E (Gas and Electricity): 3p advertised, but SEG T&Cs are unpublished (email customer.service@e.org) and the only published supply T&Cs are titled 'for DOMESTIC Gas and/or Electricity Supply'. Both need a direct call before being treated as live options. Supplier page →

On the biggest sites, also consider a PPA

On the largest sites, a wholesale-linked commercial Power Purchase Agreement can sometimes beat a flat SEG rate, especially if you can shift export into the evening peak with a battery. It is worth tendering alongside the SEG options above, not instead of them.

OVO PPA Commercial PPA route for generators over 100 kW; buys 100% of your export. (Weekly scan 2026-09-21: page inaccessible from scan environment; quote-only PPA, no published rate to verify.) Fixed Rate PPA, 1 - 3 years · Export capacity >100 kW Visit → Drax UK power generator with a route-to-market and PPA arm for renewable output. (Weekly scan 2026-09-21: page inaccessible from scan environment; quote-only PPA, no published rate to verify.) Negotiated · Commercial PPA route Visit → SmartestEnergy B2B supplier and one of the UK's largest buyers of independent generation. Minimum 1 GWh/yr, so best suited to sites above roughly 1 MWp. (Weekly scan 2026-09-21: page inaccessible from scan environment; quote-only PPA, no published rate to verify.) Negotiated · Commercial PPA route Visit → Statkraft Europe's largest renewable generator; a heavyweight PPA off-taker for larger volumes. (Weekly scan 2026-09-21: page inaccessible from scan environment; quote-only PPA, no published rate to verify.) Negotiated · Commercial PPA route Visit → Centrica Energy Marketing Centrica's trading arm; PPAs plus balancing and optimisation. (Weekly scan 2026-09-21: page inaccessible from scan environment; quote-only PPA, no published rate to verify.) Negotiated · Commercial PPA route Visit → Good Energy Commercial PPA route for generators exporting over 20 MWh/yr - the lowest threshold we have found. Non-domestic customers only. A PPA route rather than a SEG tariff. (Weekly scan 2026-09-21: page inaccessible from scan environment; quote-only PPA, no published rate to verify.) Standard Fixed Price PPA up to 3 years; bespoke, corporate and CfD structures also available · Export over 20 MWh/yr Visit →

Not sure which export route fits your sites?

We model SEG, bundled and PPA options across whole portfolios. Tell us about your sites and we’ll find the best export deal.

Talk to Synth